Engine oil leaking

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lud1konj

Hi :-( ...bad news...and no the Dacia is running fine, It's the Puma :-(

I've noticed my Puma is dumping oil. Not too much, but it has me concerned...My local mech thinks it's a head and headgasket problem and to get it all sorted it'll probably cost me around 200 £ (if not more, which is too much for me). Before I do that, I'm gonna go to my nearest Ford dealer...anyhow I'd like to hear your thoughts...

I'm not a mechanic (and I'm not English) so bare with me while I'm trying to explain where the leak is located.

On the backside of the engine there is some sort of metal sheet (maybe a heat shield) which accumulates some of the oil leaking from the engine (colored blue). The other place I've felt oil with my fingers is a metal notch sticking out of the engine (colored red). This accumulates only after a drive...at a standstill I'm guessing the oil just drips straight down and onto the pavement...

The pictures are not mine!

Front side
f_gud1_9b3_u8yoq.jpg

Backside
f_hc8e_e0b_u8yoq.jpg

Is the problem so dire that it'll cost so much to fix? :-(

i would say you just need a new rocker cover gasket and sealant, make sure to buy a genuine ford one.

the head gasket is lower down on the engine (under the 4 holes you can see in the backside photo)

lusid666 said:
i would say you just need a new rocker cover gasket and sealant, make sure to buy a genuine ford one.

the head gasket is lower down on the engine (under the 4 holes you can see in the backside photo)

Thank you for explaining...I'm going to my nearest Ford dealer tomorrow, I hope they come to the same conclusion :)