Help need some advice

General discussion area relating to the Ford Puma, any off topic or threads that are deemed chat/waffle will be moved to the relevant areas! Please keep ON TOPIC at all times.

Moderator: Moderators

Th30rme
Model: 1.4

Help need some advice

Postby Th30rme » Sat Feb 25, 2017 11:06 pm

Hello community!! I'm a newbie. Sorry if I'm posting in the wrong place.
Well I've been given a puma 1.4 as a project for myself but I think it maybe beyond repair so I'll tell you abit about it from the top.
Leaking water into the cabin every door seal has gone.
Can see the ground through a hole in the passenger side floor close to sill.
Rear arches rust bubbles
Driver side sill hole on curve of door.
Rear window seal has gone can push window out.
Brakes jammed on front and back drums have gone as well as callipers.
Full suspension needs replacing.
New cooling and heating parts.
New engine as this one has 160000 on clock and is stalling when getting warm.
New headlights
And not found anything else yet.

The question is do I repair the beautiful classic or do I send her to puma heaven. Please help.
0 x

Fanwheel
Adolescent
Adolescent
Model: 1.7

Help need some advice

Postby Fanwheel » Sun Feb 26, 2017 11:43 am

It depends how much energy and funds you are prepared to spend. It sounds too far gone to me personally from your description, but then I havent got the skills to do the work myself.

The main worry / thing to check in detail before i'd go any further would be the bodywork as this is the Pumas weakness, particularly the sills and prescribed areas for MOT's. If the body is very rotten I wouldn't go any further as you should be able to pick up much better example for little money these days
1 x
1.7 Moondust Silver (1999) 2014 to present
1.7 Panther Black (1998) 2001 to 2005

zinc2000
Project Petrol Head!
Project Petrol Head!
Model: Millennium

Help need some advice

Postby zinc2000 » Sun Feb 26, 2017 12:09 pm