Aero improvements

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

HampusSoder

Hello!

I've started to become more interested in improving the aeoro of my puma! I already have a front splitter that will hopefully be fitted next week! :)

I know the basics of a splitter, it creates a low pressure which forces the air under the car and forcing the front down.

Thanks to Sjoerds aero thread I've seen that the Puma creates some drag in the rear. I'm no expert but I think that's happening because of the air travelling in too slow speed behind the car which generates the drag. My thought is now that fitting holes in the bumper (and working with the splitter) would solve this to an extent.

Theory: Splitter forces front down and sends air under the car, the air under the car finds its way through the holes in the bumper and put some speed in the slow air on the rear and reduces the drag.

I could be talking shit atm. I'm not educated in this.

am I just totally talking bullshit or do I have a point?

Any help on this is helpful! :)

Personally I think all the splitters, holes and spoilers make a tiny if any difference and in some cases could actually slow the car down.

They just don't go fast enough to need all the fancy aero bits.

If you've got the best suspension, best tyres etc then it might be worth the effort but IMHO the money (and weight) is best spent elsewhere.

adrianm said:
Personally I think all the splitters, holes and spoilers make a tiny if any difference and in some cases could actually slow the car down.

They just don't go fast enough to need all the fancy aero bits.

If you've got the best suspension, best tyres etc then it might be worth the effort but IMHO the money (and weight) is best spent elsewhere.