Idle issue pressing clutch pedal please help an old man!

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

smartsprite

Hi all, very new to the Puma forum and have treated myself to a 97, jewel green, 98k mile 1.7 VCT. Based in Dursley, Gloucestershire I am a Smart Repair Tech and have bought the Puma to play with paint effects, colour shades and wheels etc. Then once looking fine intend to enjoy the fun. Have a few issues with "Pammie" (Baywatch) and have just had a second hand VCT selanoid fitted (Nottingham Vehicle Dismantlers...brilliant and friendly) that has cured the hesitation at around 4000 revs. Read loads of the old threads but can`t quite find the exact same issue that is still there......
What remains is a problem when coming to a stop. If I press the clutch pedal the revs bounce up and down 5 or 6 times in 1 second intervals eventually settling down. If I knock it into neutral the revs rise slowly peaking at around 3000 but by this time I normally press the clutch or switch off.
This was happening before the new VCT selanoid and I have fitted a new idle valve and cleaned the throttle body.

Any solutions????????????

Thanks.

Think I read there's a switch on the clutch pedal that can play up? Don't hold me to that, it's a vague recollection but think it had something to do with engine running problems?

Yeah correct, there is a switch on the top of the clutch pedal, that can become dislodged and give you issues coming to a stop and whenever you press the clutch pedal as it dramatically alters load on the engine.

Sounds good. I did have a quick peep at the switch a week ago but will have a closer look this weekend. Being an old git it takes a while to get into a position to see and play with the switch........problem is it takes me twice as long to get back out of the footwell!!
Many thanks for the help though.