Not starting

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

kit cat

Hi newbie here, I went to tesco in my puma 1.7 v reg, went in did a bit of shopping and when I came out is were the problem started.
I got in to the car put it in reverse and it seemed to stall, which didn't seem unusual as I often stall it in reverse. But when I started it back up it just kind of spluttered, the engine was running but didn't sound right at all. When I put my foot on the accelerator nothing happened except the car shook more violently. It was as if it had no fuel but it has 1/4 of a tank. I tried it a few more times and each time the car would start but it just shook and rattled, my hubby went down a few hours later to have a look and now it won't start at all.

Have checked the fuel cut off switch which is fine.

Please help! I'm being forced to drive a fiat uno!

Also I have noticed that occasionally when I'm accelerating the car seems to have no power. Especially in third.

You could check the usual suspects. Plugs, HT Leads and coil pack.

Seg

Hi and welcome! Sorry to hear of your woes. Whereabouts are you? There may be a member nearby who can help, or we may be able to point you in the direction of a trustworthy garage.

Welcome along. Check the electrical connection to your MAF and make sure it is fully home. If so it might be worth removing the MAF and giving it a clean with some brake cleaner. Also check that all the bolts are secure on your air filter.
Good luck.

Seg said:
You could check the usual suspects. Plugs, HT Leads and coil pack.

Seg
^this^ everytime is the first port of call, then check fuel filter has been changed recently. All these are easily checked and replaced.