Bit of a newb with questions......Sorry!

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mattblack_lude

Hi fellow puma brethren,

Im not a total newb to puma's or indeed the forum, as i have a track puma, however, this is my first road puma and im full of questions...

First off, its a W reg 1.7 in green, picked it up today as was desperate for a car after my fiesta van decided to eat its own clutch release bearing (fords hey!.....oh wait...).
It was cheap, and probably for a reason, but i haven't done quite enough seat time to discover all the downsides just yet.

So, my questions so far:
It's only done 84,000 miles, but i don't think its been serviced in 84,000 miles either - the oil is like gravy. So, best oil? I know its the worst question to ask, & one that has been discussed til death, but is Fords 5W 30 superior to just a regular garage supplied 5W 30? I say that because my brother is a mechanic and can source the oil from his work for very little, but if Fords own is far better, it'll be worth the extra £10 or so.

Secondly, gearbox oil - im aware you can change it as such, but im keen to top it up given the poor service history i can only assume it has had. What grade gearbox oil is it?

Regarding the service, im planning on: oil, oil filter, air filter, spark plugs, fuel filter, gearbox oil check. Is there anything im missing? Any common puma related things to check? Clean out throttle body etc etc?
Given the thickness & appearance of the oil, im tempted to use some sort of engine cleaner before the fresh oil goes in. Worth doing? If so, what ones would you recommend?

I apologize for rattling on already, i just get very "in" to a vehicle when i first buy one, they always feel unloved and 'dirty' until i know its been serviced and cared for. :lol: