So I bought a Puma......

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

julesp

My wife decided to remodel my little run-around Fiesta by taking a muntjac on head to head, I lost, or rather my car did. So there I am considering what I might buy for under £1,000 to run around to work, at this point I should declare I have been selling Ford's for 20 years including of course the iconic Ford Puma, and so I was hoping to find one for sensible money....For what is almost certainly going to be a future classic, not yet of course, they are ridiculously cheap. I can remember selling these for £14k, £15k even £16k and above and they were considered one of the best handling coupes of their time. There are plenty on Ebay but some right chancers as well, I happened across a very poor advert on Autotrader which amounted to a 2-line description and no pic!! I figured it was either someone who has little experience selling things or a trader chancing his arm, luckily it was the former. It was described as a 1 lady owner FSH 2000W 1.7 Puma in Red 60,000 miles, and that was about all. Twice I said to the lady "How bad are the wheel arches" and she said they are ok just some dents to the drivers door. I did take a bit of a flyer on the car as the MOT had only 10 days to run but on the MOT history check 3,000 miles ago the advisories were corrosion to the exhaust and one sill. As luck would have it the exhaust had been done so I got a temporary repair to the sill (I will replace it properly later) and got one of our mechanics to put it up in the air to see the extent of the rust problem, incredibly apart from the one sill it is immaculate, the arches are perfect. It failed the MOT yesterday.....on one brake pipe, so £60 plus the cost of the MOT I have a years MOT and no advisories. Oh and it has done 58,000 miles and I have all the invoices for all the services including cambelt changes etc.