How to put your digital display into diagnostic mode

This section will mainly be used to provide useful guides for everything from changing your steering wheel to fixing that damn parcel shelf!

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
red
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 10970
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 4:31 pm
Model: Other
Location: Cambridgeshire
Contact:

How to put your digital display into diagnostic mode

Post by red » Mon Oct 15, 2007 3:44 pm

Instructions on how to unlock your digital display:

Difficulty: 1/5

Time: 5 mins

Tools: N/A

Parts: N/A

Procedure:

1.With ignition off, hold down the trip mileage button and start the engine, keeping it held down.

2.After a couple of seconds the word ‘test’ will appear.

3.Now release the mileage reset button and use this to scroll through the various readings.

Functions

1 Gauge Test
2 Dial Test
3 Bulb Test
4 Diagnostic Check (Pass displayed)
5 Diagnostic Check (Pass displayed)
6 Clock Type (shows "date 44" if UK)
7 Diagnostic Check
8 Speed MPH (sped E displayed)
9 Speed KPH
10 Revs (rpm)
11 Fuel (estimated miles left on current fuel level)
12 Engine Type (Petr displayed)
13 Temp of Engine (Approx : P46 , C090 when warmed up)
14 Battery Voltage (Approx 14 when running)
15 Diagnostic Check
16 LCD Display
18-30 Diagnostic Checks

Notes:

This will only work with the later models sporting the Digital Odometer.
To turn this setting off, simply turn the ignition off.

DTC Codes:
http://www.projectpuma.com/viewforum.php?f=107" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
0 x

User avatar
Dal
Site Administrator
Site Administrator
Posts: 14725
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2007 8:27 pm
Model: Other

Post by Dal » Mon Mar 17, 2008 3:37 pm

Here's a guy doing it on his Fiesta (same dash)

0 x

pumaRVX
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Jun 04, 2010 8:46 pm
Model: 1.7

Re: How to put your digital display into diagnostic mode

Post by pumaRVX » Sat Jun 12, 2010 10:41 pm

if there were anything wrong with the car will this let you know please get back to me thanks looking to buy puma 2moro
0 x

ScubaSteve
Project Elder
Project Elder
Posts: 3749
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 10:50 pm
Model: 1.7

Re: How to put your digital display into diagnostic mode

Post by ScubaSteve » Sat Jun 12, 2010 10:46 pm

not really, the dtc test isnt that comprehensive, worth checking it anyway
0 x

User avatar
Scotty1.7
Project Elder
Project Elder
Posts: 3434
Joined: Sat Oct 31, 2009 10:25 pm
Model: 1.7
Location: Shaw

Re: How to put your digital display into diagnostic mode

Post by Scotty1.7 » Thu Aug 19, 2010 3:21 pm

Quick question- Bee has a digi dash and yet won't go in diag mode??
0 x
16 Months of 0 Action- Aug 10 to Dec 11- 5 months down, 11 to go
BumbleBee- The First AutoBot Puma
Mods- Tinted/ Pipercross Viper/ Exhaust- Custom Powerflow/ Lux Pack confirmed!/ Jacko MAF- There FTW/ 16inch SportKA Wheels/ 300mm Brakes/ Full JFS Yellow Under Bonnet Hoses/ 5 PP stickers in 3 colours/ ClarkieMod Grill/ Stripes/ Weitic Coilovers/ Polybushed/ Leather interior

User avatar
FlashBastd
Guru!
Guru!
Posts: 1581
Joined: Tue May 19, 2009 3:37 pm
Model: Black
Location: West Yorks

Re: How to put your digital display into diagnostic mode

Post by FlashBastd » Thu Aug 19, 2010 4:12 pm

Then you aren't doing it properly. Make sure that the trip button stays held down from ignition pos 1 until well after the engine is started.
0 x

ScubaSteve
Project Elder
Project Elder
Posts: 3749
Joined: Sat May 08, 2010 10:50 pm
Model: 1.7

Re: How to put your digital display into diagnostic mode

Post by ScubaSteve » Tue Nov 02, 2010 9:16 am

dash dtc codes

Image

also slight innacuracy about the fuel one its volume left not miles left
0 x

User avatar
yippeekiay
Project Elder
Project Elder
Posts: 6203
Joined: Mon Jan 12, 2009 7:36 am
Model: Other
Location: Up North i.e. 100+ Miles Above Manchester!!!

Re: How to put your digital display into diagnostic mode

Post by yippeekiay » Tue Nov 02, 2010 12:59 pm

Yes, and the reading only goes far down as 27/28 iirc when I drove until it was more or less empty. iirc it goes to 235 when full. (might have been 325...lol)
0 x
584858495850PUMAImageRX8Image
Meet(s) Attended:- 2008;- Dec-Gateshead 2009;- Jan-Yorks' D, Mar-Leic', Apr-Derby D/Alton T, May-FITP, Jun-Chats', Jul/Aug-Euro Tour, Aug-Hi Force 2010;- May-Nurb'. Aug-FF. Sep-NE Mini Meet 2011;- Feb-Martin B'day, Apr-Nurb1', May-POD(WON), May-FITP, Jun-Nurb2', Aug-FF, Sep-Sheffield, Nov-Stafford(RX) 2012;- Sep-Sheffield 2013;- Mar-Rockingham Next Meet(s):- 2013;- ?????

User avatar
nippydee
Project Petrol Head!
Project Petrol Head!
Posts: 825
Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 9:56 pm
Model: 1.4
Location: West Lancs...Ooop 'north Cumbria

Re: How to put your digital display into diagnostic mode

Post by nippydee » Tue Nov 02, 2010 4:34 pm

Handy to know - thanks for the heads up x :)
0 x
Tina - Ex owner of Pips. Moondust 1.4 Lux.

Cars, like coins, grow dear as they grow old: It is the rust we value, not the gold.”
it is better to spend one day as a tiger than a lifetime as a sheep...
Meets Attended: Sheffield Sept 2009 - Lymm (Warrington M56) April 2010, May 2010, July 2010, Sept 2010, Oct 2010, Nov 2010, Dec 2010 - Leicester March 2010

User avatar
Xrion236
Project Regular
Project Regular
Posts: 294
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 11:59 am
Model: FRP

Re: How to put your digital display into diagnostic mode

Post by Xrion236 » Thu Nov 04, 2010 10:46 am

sorry if this is off topic but i thought this was going to say "How to put your digital clocks back 1hr" HAHAHA
0 x

Catweasel
Project Regular
Project Regular
Posts: 439
Joined: Thu Apr 17, 2014 4:26 pm
Model: 1.7

Re: How to put your digital display into diagnostic mode

Post by Catweasel » Thu Jul 02, 2015 12:25 pm

Very handy !
0 x
2001 Ford Puma 1.7 1971 Triumph GT6 Mk3 2016 VW Polo GTI 1.8 Tsi

User avatar
sccc
Newbie
Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 12, 2013 7:47 pm
Model: 1.6
Location: Budapest, Hungary

How to put your digital display into diagnostic mode

Post by sccc » Sat Mar 09, 2019 6:45 pm

Hi,

I would like to ask the meaning of the P at the part:

"13 Temp of Engine (Approx : P46 , C090 when warmed up)"

The C stands for Celsius of I'm right, but I can't figure out the P.
0 x

Post Reply

Return to “How To Guides”