Panther Black Project

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mogsa98

I currently use a 1.4 Puma as my only car. I love her to pieces, but at some point in the near future, I'll be able to insure the 1.7 (I'm currently 19), so I decided that I would save a Puma that might not otherwise be saved. I have limited mechanical knowledge, and have repaired small bits of my current Puma using information gained from here and PumaPeople.

Images will follow, but this is where my Project starts... I bought a Black Edition as a project. First off, a quick bit of history about the car: It had been off the road since 2013, and between 2013 and 2017 had been started occasionally for the then-owner to use the air conditioning while taking breaks from gardening during the summer.

Obviously it had no MOT, so I had to pay for it to be transported, and it didn't start.

First job - now complete was changing the fuel pump. As of this weekend just gone, it starts and runs as it should. It idles beautifully, fluids haven't leaked, and everything works as far as I can tell. Managed a short drive around the block in her, and apart from the brakes not really working, all is well.

Next job is to change the brakes. I'm just going straight for an ST150 setup on the front. Rears seem okay, though I might change all drum components when I get round to it. Handbrake isn't working quite properly - definitely produces some resistance, but not enough for me to be happy with it...

:cool: Good luck with the new project! Sounds like you've mad a good start at least.

Good luck with the project. You will learn a lot by getting "hands on"
I am a great believer in getting stuck in instead of reading about things and claiming to know it all....

Hi Morgan - good to see you over here! Will be following this thread with interest. :thumbs: