best choice of cone air filter?

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Xeno

Hi all, been looking to add an air filter to my 1.7 puma and was wondering what the opinions were of the forum.

Im looking for best price vs best performance vs best sound if possible.

Is it worth inserting a cold air intake also?

Im just doing little bits at a time as Im quite new to upgrading/modding so be kind!

I have been looking at piper x/K&N and ram air is there any others worth considering?

As you may know the first performance mod you can do to any standard engine is to improve the breathing..get the air/fuel mixture in and the exhaust gases out.
Thing is, it's not much point doing one without the other. Fitting an induction filter will only give you an increase in noise performance (ok if that's what you want).
In my opinion you would be better saving your money to put towards a 4-2-1 exhaust manifold.
Then the FRP airbox mod should work to give you a bit more power.
Paul

Hi Paul thanks for the info, wasnt sure about doing a full system or just a cat back. Im kind of hoping to learn to do it myself which is why Im starting small

Hi xeno,
I recon the best air-filter mod is to use a k&n panel filter in your cars original airbox.

The FRP had a cold air feel from behind the bumper which people copy with a piece of gutter downpipe and some flex-pipe.
You can also bin the resonator box from inside the lid of your airbox.
I`m pretty sure there is a guide on here in the how-to`s

4-2-1, de-cat & system gives most power/££

Hi trublustu, i will be doing a filter change soon, so instead of changing the cone just binn the Box and replace the rectangular filter for a k&n?

Yeah, steer clear of a cone filter.
loads of noise but it gets hot under there and the engine would feel down on power
(cold air is denser than hot, therefore more oxygen to burn)