Help Remove rear Brake Drums

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rob987_0

Hi, now that we have decent (ish) weather I've started to do some work on my car. I'm a total newbie so I'm still learning. Anyway, I want to take the rear beam off to refurb it. I am stuck at the point of removing the brake drums. I've removed the four bolts from each drum but they still won't budge. Is there something else I'm missing or are they just rusted on?

Also, does the cable simply un clip from the drum?

IMAG0183.jpg

Cheers

The drum should just come off but looking at the picture you need to remove the ABS sensor. There are a couple of roll pins that are more than likely holding it together, look between the bolts top & bottom. If it is just the drum you want to clean up then you do not need to remove it from the back. It comes away from the front leaving the shoes and back plate intact.

You will need to remove the drum first to free the hand brake cable from the shoes..

30mm socket removes the hub nut (you need a decent long bar as well on the socket) remove bearings the drum will pull off, can take a bit of effort to get it over the shoes if it has worn a bit, cable is then accessible although you will find it easier to remove the brake shoes first to unhook the cable.

Theres a bolt holding the sensor to the back of the drum, in theory when the bolts out the sensor should just pull out.

However its likely siezed in and youll have to take the front of the drum off and knock it out with a small socket and a hammer (which will require bolting back to the beam again). However there is a fair chance that this will beak the sensor (although I got away with it)

The drum is probably siezed to the beam and will need a little pursuasion to knock it off.