another puma turbo conversion

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

lolly boi

Hi guys i will be buying and building a 1.7 turbo engine soon. i work in a garage so i have everything i need apart from lots of money :-( ive read pumanoobs 1.7 thread and have a understanding of what i need to do. i have frp cams and a frp ecu with no torque limiter for it so far ( because there in my puma now with a panel filter and a 4-2-1 mani + free flowing center section). im gonna run the 2 head gaskets and the decompression plate. i want it to be at maximum 8 psi and around 160-180 bhp. i have a Garrett gt20 turbo from a land rover td5 engine ( as i work for them got it for free) could this work instead of using a t25 from a saab ?

lolly boi said:
i think im gonna go with the garrett t25 from the saab but cant find the ford exhaust manifold that bolts to it :? hows your turbo conversion flying scotsman ?

What do you mean the ford exhaust manifold that bolts to it? There isnt one, you will have to fabricate one.
The T25 is, for the boost you want to run, seems to be the common choice. I too had a T25when I started my ideas but I opted for something a little different.

Touch wood, mine will be complete and ready for Rockingham at the end of March...

What do you mean the ford exhaust manifold that bolts to it? There isnt one, you will have to fabricate one
the manifold pumanoob used on his i no he had to weld a flange on to it but thats no problem. the manifold i have unbolts from the cat but its way to large and out of shape.

lolly boi said:
What do you mean the ford exhaust manifold that bolts to it? There isnt one, you will have to fabricate one
the manifold pumanoob used on his i no he had to weld a flange on to it but thats no problem. the manifold i have unbolts from the cat but its way to large and out of shape.