Braided brake hoses warning/lesson Wezmoto

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

grogee

I fitted front braided hoses branded 'Wezmoto' in summer 2019. Less than two years later they've been picked up at MoT (though not 'failed' - my tester and I have an understanding!).

Pretty disappointing given they were £35/pair. I'm going to fit some Unipart ones for about £22 the pair. I don't drive hard and indeed I haven't even done 5000 miles since the braided ones were fitted. Unipart were always OK in the Old Days when I worked in a garage, so hopefully they'll last a bit longer.

I should imagine there are some decent makes for braided hoses available via the usual outlets (eg Demon Tweeks) but I bet they're a whole lot more expensive. Lesson learned: buy cheap, buy twice.

HEL braided brake lines front pair (stainless steel fittings) - £44.98, delivered.
HEL braided brake lines front and rear pairs (stainless steel fittings) - £89.96, delivered.
Choice of 13 colours.

I've had HEL ones on my Quantum 2+2 for at least 6 years, absolutely fine, the previous Goodridge ones had rusted ferrules and was mentioned by my MOT tester, that it would probably be an advisory in a couple of years. i always ask him to let me know if he spots anything that needs doing.

Hi.
A few years back I swapped my hoses for braided ones, to be honest I did not notice any difference. Last year the started to look a bit manky so I swapped the out for standard Unipart. Again I did not notice any difference. So on the basis that there appears no difference to be gained by swapping to braided hoses I will in future just use stock items. Has any one who has fitted braided hoses actually noticed and difference.

Regards,
Richard.

What was the make of braided hoses you used?
I found the advantage of HEL is, I no longer get "rusty ferrules" listed on the MOT.