Hi Peeps !

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mustardmit

It's nice to be here.
I've just run screaming from the Puma People site a) because it's v fiddly to navigate and b) because they used an unauthorised photo of me that I didn't upload (wtf?)
Aaaanyway - just bought 2000 Pacific green 1.7i Puma, lovely condition - a few rust spots in the usual places, fsh, tyres a bit worn and someone's stuck a stupid looking fat tailpipe/backbox on all wonky, otherwise great !
I was worried that the cambelt might need changing as its done 120k so I phoned a service station found on an old service doct from 2008 and they confirmed that it had (at 82k) - yayyy!
Anyway, I'm totally new to this type of car having just scrapped my beloved but rather sluggish Merc 190e.
Just topped it up with Castrol Magnatec 5/30, skimmed off the rust from the rear wheel arches/front and rear of doors, slapped some Kurust on, a bit of filler and re-sprayed with paint from a Ford dealership, it's well on the way to looking pristine :)
Any advice/comments ?

Welcome along :eek:k:

Unfortunately the Kurust route will never get rid of the old tin worm completely : I redid mine that way for years each summer! :lol: Makes it look better though for next to no pennies. Is pacific green easy to blend/match?

Welcome to the site :D

The picture thing might have been because you can integrate your account on that site with social networking so maybe that's what had happened? In any case nice to have you here.

Thanks for the replies and kind welcomings !
Dal, I know the bubbles are likely to return - I was wondering if it would be an easy job to get up inside the wheel arches, scrub the lipped edges with a wire brush and fill them too. That would have to cure the problem as it would block the route of the water surely (?)