My new Puma....

ProjectPuma

Help Support ProjectPuma:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

MCPuma

Hi all!

Just taken ownership of a 1999 V Puma 1.7 in red, from a family member.

The car does have some issues but it was FREE so i can't complain!

It's got the usual rust on the rear arches (although not as bad as some that i've seen) and various other little areas of rust around the car.

Before i did anything to the car i wanted to have it checked out to see if it's solid underneath so i took it to work (work in a garage - athough i'm not a mechanic) and happily i was told it was 'solid' underneath and one of the better ones they had seen, especially considering the age.

So, thats good..and i will now commit to fixing it up a bit.

Is it OK if i list a few things to see if anyone has any ideas? (on the ones i dont know!)

The main things to sort out (im not concerned with the cosmetic side of things at the moment)

*Needs new OSF coil spring, a part of it broke off when i moved it from where it has been parked. (it's been stood for quite a long time)

*Battery is goosed. Charges up ok but just doesn't hold it. New battery imminent.

*Needs cambelt change. It does have a decent service history but no proof of this being done so i want to get it done. Should i do water pump at the same time? I've read it's not belt driven?

*Exhaust is now just starting to blow right at the join to the back box. It looks pretty ancient so best get replaced i reckon.

*Little niggly things - the 'door open' warning light comes on and off when driving. It will stay off when the road is smooth but comes on and off over bumps. Any ideas?